A short description of the nature of the information provided.

The purpose of the article is to describe, explain and provide more detail on Technology Readiness Levels. The information is provided by The University of Cape Town (UCT).

Keywords relevant to the information provided.
A full description of the information provided.

Technology Readiness Levels (TRL) are a method of classifying technology maturity as one moves from TRL 1, where the research is initiated to TRL 9 where the technology has been commercialised and has been in the market for some time. RC&I has developed the table below, which provides definitions of technology maturity at each TRL in a number of different sectors. Funders are increasingly using TRLs to describe the target of the funding that they provide and also to understand the level of maturity that will be reached once a funded project has been completed. TRLs are useful as one can classify a project and understand the steps that will need to be taken in order to bring a product or service to market. TRLs were conceived by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and their current nine-level scale has gained wide acceptance.

Information type: 
The type of information provided.
Country(s) relevant to this information.
Represented organisation or individual: 
Click on this link to see other content published by this organisation/individual and detail regarding the organisation/individual.
Reference number: 
Use this reference number to find this information easily in future.